Incident Reports

Nine arrested for obstructing re-election


Province 1, Sunsari, Dharan

Police have arrested nine men from Dharan for alleged involvement in disrupting local re-election. According to Dundeeraj Neupane, DSP of Area Police Office Dharan, nine men of CPN Maoist (Vaidhya) led by Mohan Vaidhya Kiran were arrested on Sunday evening.

The arrestees are Tikaram Rai, Tarak Limbu, Mohan Limbu, Paras Limbu, Santosh Thakur, Padam Tamang, Gaurav Rai, Jay Acharya, and Ram Bahadur Paudel. Neupane said they were arrested from Chata chowk, Dharan-1when they were about to obstruct the re-election.


Details and Impacts
Violent / Non-violent Nonviolent
Primary Form Program Interference/Obstruction
Primary Cause Election-related incident
Actor 1 - Number of people 9
Actor 1 - Affiliations CPN-M (Baidya)
Actor 1 - Youth unknown
Actor 2 - Number of people n/a
Actor 2 - Affiliation (Target) Government and civil servants at central level
Actor 2 - Youth na
Local Newspaper - Jhapa


Related Reports