Incident Reports

Special Committee Formed to Look into 'Poll Irregularities'


Bagmati, Lalitpur, Lalitpur

Kathmandu,nirvachan adhyan, anusandhan tatha sujhav sansadiya vishesh samiti gathan. Kathmandu/June 13 The Parliament meeting on June 13 has formed a seven-member committee to look into the alleged poll rigging in the Constituent Assembly (CA) elections held on November 19, 2013. The committee has been named "Constituent Assembly Election Study, Investigation and Recommendation Special Committee, 2014". It comprises of NC lawmakers Bal Bahadur KC and Dina Aryal, Bhim Bahadur Rawal and Bhanu Bhakta Dhakal from CPN-UML, Ram Narayan Bidari and Rekha Sharma from UCPN-Maoist and Laxman Lal Karna from the Madhesh-based parties. The leaders of major political parties had, in December 2013, struck a four-point deal to end the political deadlock and had agreed to form a probe committee to investigate the CA "poll rigging" following UCPN-M demand. UCPN-M had obstructed the house proceedings for 12 days in the current session complaining lack of delay in formation of the committee.


Related Reports
Related Trend Analysis